Mortgage industry events, interest rate announcements, Canadian housing market index price numbers and other housing information, Market Insights reports, and much, much more. Maintaining our commitment to giving you MORE!

A Year in Review Part 1 – Teranet Market Insights

This is the first post in our four-part year-in-review series for the Canadian mortgage industry. Stay tuned for Parts 2, 3, and 4 in the coming weeks.

2019 was an insightful year in the Canadian mortgage industry with many new learnings coming to the forefront about consumer trends, the impacts of mortgage regulations, lender market share breakdowns, and more.

Several of those findings came from Teranet, through our Market Insight analysis — specifically the Teranet Market Insight Report and the Teranet Market Insight Forum.

If you missed an edition or a forum, do not fret — we have compiled all of the Teranet Market Insights shared in 2019 for easy review.

Teranet Market Insight Reports 2019

The Teranet Market Insight Report is a publication with exclusive information compiled by our data scientists. In 2019, we released three editions, each focusing on a different topic.

The 2019 editions were:

  1. March 2019

In this report, we examined the impacts of the revised B-20 Guideline that was introduced in January of 2018, which featured the updated mortgage stress test.

This edition of the Market Insight Report looked at how the B-20 Guideline and revised stress test affected mortgage activity in Ontario and the market share of Ontario’s banks and lenders.

Read it in full here: https://www.purview.ca/march-2019-teranet-market-insights-report/

  1. July 2019

In this report, we honed in on a specific segment of the Ontario mortgage market: first-time home buyers.

This edition of the Market Insight Report explored buying patterns in the condo and non-condo markets as well as how this activity differed across various regions in Ontario. The report analyzed demographic information to gain further insight into first-time home buying activity amongst different age groups. We also provided insight into which lenders first-time home buyers are choosing for their mortgages, how many parties we can see on title, what dwelling types are most popular amongst these buyers, and more.

Read it in full here: https://www.purview.ca/july-2019-teranet-market-insights-report/

  1. December 2019

The most recent Market Insight Report moved away from first mortgages towards another type of registration: second charges on title.

We looked at second charge title trends across Ontario, including the average transaction amount, how the dollar value of second charges has grown between 2010 and 2019, second charge trends by property type, the time lag between first and second charges, and more.

Read it in full here: https://www.purview.ca/teranet-market-insight-report-december-2019/

Teranet Market Insight Forum

The Teranet Market Insight Forum is an in-person event hosted by Teranet for Canadian housing and financial professionals to network and listen to speakers present about industry trends.

In 2019, we held two forums in the Greater Toronto Area. Each one featured a different lineup of insightful presentations.

  1. March 2019

On March 29, 2019, we hosted the first Teranet Market Insight Forum of the year at the MaRS Discovery District.

Attendees heard impactful speeches from Stéfane Marion, the Chief Economist and Strategist at the National Bank of Canada, on the future of the Canadian economy; Roger Vandomme, Chief Data Scientist at SMC, on the role of AI and Human Decision Making in the real estate market; and Michael Pertsis, Director of Mortgage Business, Global Funding, and Treasury at National Bank, on innovations in the Teranet-National Bank House Price Index™.

See the full recap: https://www.teranet.ca/commercial-solutions-blog/teranet-market-insights-forum-highlights-canadian-economy-forecast-ai-in-real-estate-applications-and-more/

  1. October 2019

The second Teranet Market Insight Forum of 2019 took place on October 22, 2019 at Malaparte.

This time, insights came from Benjamin Tal, Deputy Chief Economist of CIBC, who spoke about the Canadian and global economies; an industry panel featuring Tim Hudak, CEO of the Ontario Real Estate Association, Paul Taylor, CEO of Mortgage Professionals Canada, and Dilprit Grewal, Senior Vice President of Mortgages, Secured Lending, and Project Delivery at CIBC; and a closing keynote from marketing expert Ron Tite, author of Think. Do. Say.

See the full recap: https://www.teranet.ca/commercial-solutions-blog/teranet-market-insight-forum-highlights-october-2019/

2019 was an insightful year indeed and 2020 will be just as illuminating. Stay tuned for information about our Teranet Market Insight Reports and Forums in the year ahead.

Be the first in the know about what is to come by signing up for our newsletter.

What insights would you like to see in 2020? Share with us on social media. Purview is on FacebookTwitter, and LinkedIn.

Searching for insightful data in between reports and forums? Look no further. Purview offers in-depth property data for Canadian housing and financial professionals that can be accessed at any time. Learn more about our solutions today. Call 1-855-787-8439 or visit www.purview.ca.

« Back to Blog